Skip to content

The Showdown Effect Gives Young Guns and Weird Scientists a Free Content Update

May 7, 2013

Paradox Interactive, a publisher of games and writer of checks their bodies can’t cash, today unleashed a monstrous content update for The Showdown Effect, the ridiculously explosive multiplayer action title from Arrowhead Game Studios. Featuring new stages, characters, and costumes, the update is available today for free to all players of The Showdown Effect.

For gamers who are not players of The Showdown Effect, Paradox offers two suggestions on how to become players of The Showdown Effect: defeat a current player in a sword duel and absorb their immortality and game collection, or purchase The Showdown Effect in today’s Daily Deal on Steam at a hefty discount.

Witness the Western Sci-fi espionage explosion chaos action insanity in a new trailer:

In today’s update players receive two new levels, South Eastwood and Fort Fiesta, inspired by classic ‘spaghetti Western’ films – with an unhealthy dose of 1980s monster movies mashed into the mix. The levels are available for free and will be immediately available to pick in both ranked and custom matches. Players will also meet two new characters: Thelma Vaine, British super-spy with a cloaking device and a sharp tongue – and Dr. Johnny Bionic, a cyborg who must fight every day to keep his drill-saw-arm from murdering all humans. These characters, plus a series of Reddit costume pieces, can be redeemed for free using in-game AC. An additional set of Western costume pieces can be purchased for a fistful of dollars.

A streamdown effect will occur on Paradox’s TwitchTV channel on May 7th at 8 p.m. CEST (11 a.m. PDT, 7 p.m. BST, 6 p.m. GMT) to show off the new stars, stuff, and strangeness. Come towww.twitch.tv/paradoxinteractive if you want to live.

Advertisements

From → News, Trailers, Videos

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: